1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. CEFR


The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages is an international standard that is used to describe one’s language ability. DOWNLOAD.

CEFR was developed by the Council of Europe. This framework which  was designed to provide a transparent, coherent and comprehensive basis for the elaboration of language syllabuses and curriculum guidelines, the design of teaching and learning materials, and the assessment of foreign language proficiency, is the result of over twenty years of research.

The CEFR describes foreign language proficiency at six levels: A1 and A2, B1 and B2, C1 and C2. It also defines three ‘plus’ levels (A2+, B1+, B2+). This scale of levels makes it easy for anyone involved in language teaching and testing to see their level of different qualifications across languages and national boundaries. People from all around the world use the CEFR to demonstrate what language level they have and what language level they need.




Was this article helpful to you? No Yes

How can we help?